Concerning the Tomb of Horrors.

So, on October 30 and November 06, I ran the Tomb of Horrors for my group of players. I used the facsimile copy of the original AD & D module from the Return to the Tomb of Horrors box set released in 1998 by TSR, Inc.

I used Labyrinth Lord with the Advanced Edition Companion for the ruleset and rolled the characters suggested for three players in the back of the module. We chose Option 1. That gave us three Humans, a 14th level Magic-User, 14th level Cleric, 12th Level Paladin, along with a 1/2 Elf level 5 Fighter/6 Thief, Gnome Fighter 4/Illusionist 5 and a Halfling Fighter 4/Thief 5.

My players, having learned to play role-playing games from systems published mainly from the 1990’s and on, had a bit of a learning curve in respect to the way an OSR game runs as opposed to a more modern one. Thankfully, I had been running them through my corrupted Dwarven Brewery, The Puddin’ Works, (with LL’s AEC) for a few weeks before springing the Tomb on them. This has given them some familiarity with how OSR games differ, an excellent summary of which can be found in Matthew J. Finch’s Quick Primer for Old School Gaming.

It’s funny, because they have an inkling on how to play in that manner as I have always run my games with my own sensibility, which leans toward the OSR mindset as I have been playing since the ’70’s. I’ve never known it was an “OSR mindset” until I heard of the “movement” a couple years ago, I’ve just always run my games that way. I always tell my players “it’s a game of words” to the point it’s a joke with them, which is fine. I can be a surly DM. It’s only recently that I have decided to run the older systems (In the form of emulators such as OSRIC, Labyrinth Lord, the recent WOTC 1st Ed. Reprints) because my experience with DCC RPG has been amazing and has opened my eyes to the OSR and the fore-mentioned games. I have always wanted to run S1 Tomb of Horrors, S2 White Plume Mountain, S3 Expedition to Barrier Peaks, I6 Ravenloft and the Desert of Desolation series I3-5, PharaohOasis of the White Palm, and Lost Tomb of Martek. Out of those, I’ve only run White Plume Mountain, back when it was new and with the HackMaster version. I’ve owned them all, absorbed them, read them to death, but I never ran them. These games allow me to do just that. I also want to run EX1-EX2, Dungeonland and The Land Beyond the Magic Mirror, which I also ran back in the day.

Side Note: Concerning OSR. I know people say Old School Revival but I much prefer Old School Renaissance, so that’s what I call it. What’s official? Who cares, I house-ruled it anyway 😉

So, what happened?

I’ll have that up next…

Leave a Reply

