Paizo Surprises Me

I’ll have to admit, I had no interest in Pathfinder. When D and D 4th came out, I felt like it had some cool ideas (I was wrong), I might enjoy playing it (I didn’t), and it would feel like Dungeons and Dragons (wrong again).

I didn’t go for Pathfinder because I’m usually pretty stubborn once I make a decision, plus I didn’t want to continue playing 3.5 whatever. Some friends moved on to Pathfinder, they seem happy, the books look to be high quality and it certainly sells. Still, I have not bothered to pick it up or look at it. Until Now.

When did this whole Baba Yaga/Rasputin/travel to Earth deal go down? I love Winter Worlds and Ice Lands, so a Winter setting sounds good, but throw in elements of Russia and World War I? From the Paizo.com description:

PZO9071_500

Chapter 5: “Rasputin Must Die!”
by Brandon Hodge

Worlds at War
The search for the Queen of Witches finally ends when the Dancing Hut travels to Baba Yaga’s homeland of Russia on the planet Earth. The year is 1918, and the First World War rages throughout Europe. The heroes find themselves in the wilds of Siberia, where they must face Russian soldiers armed with twentieth-century technology to infiltrate an ancient monastery and rescue Baba Yaga from her estranged son, Grigori Rasputin. Can the heroes kill the “Mad Monk”—who has already cheated death once before—and free Baba Yaga, or will they fall before the horrors of modern war?

Sounds really cool to me. You’ve surprised me Paizo. I’ve gotta take another look at what all the fuss is about. At the very least, I need to read this adventure.

Leave a Reply

