OSR For You

I know the OSR movement has been around for a few years, myself really just finding out about it in the past couple years because of Facebook Groups and Google+ Communities, but also through the various blogs and Old School Gaming sites there are out there. Goodman Games’ DCC RPG was an eye-opener as well, containing a list of OSR Resources that I am still plowing through.

I know of OSRIC, Labyrinth Lord, Swords and Wizardry, Lamentations of the Flame Princess, the new Monsters and Magic, DCC RPG of course and Castles and Crusades. There are plenty of others out there as well. Not to mention you can just actually play the old Editions of Dungeon and Dragons again, thanks to the reprints that Wizards has been putting out along with the website dndclassics.com for all your .pdf needs.

I know OSRIC is a book that people have questions about, as I just researched all of this information for myself a few weeks back, I have also seen some posts on Google+ from people asking about the best version, etc. From my research and experience, get the Second Printing from Black Blade Publishing. It is up to date, it’s a beautiful book and mine was shipped quickly and packaged extraordinarily well. Just be sure to e-mail them, as the website’s store is miscalculating shipping. I’ve been very pleased with mine.

I have also picked up copies of the softcover Labyrinth Lord on Lulu.com. I’m quite impressed with the printing quality on these books as well. At Gen Con I will search out Monsters and Magic, I have the .pdf, but a book is always nice.

All in all, you should roll OSR Style for you. Because it’s something that appeals to you, not because it’s a trend.That’s why I am, it’s a way to reconnect with that little boy inside who dreamed of dungeons. And Dragons.

I’m pretty excited to roll OSR style, it’s been a long time since I used the old system, other than the HackMaster 4th Ed. years and my past year or two with DCC. I have a nice little campaign in mind…

Osric01 Osric02 Osric03 Osric04 LLAdv LLBasic

Leave a Reply

