GenCon 2012 Recap Part 2.

Part 2 of my GenCon Recap. New information is written in a Swamp color. Photos have been added as well.

Welcome to Episode Deux of my three-part Pre-GenCon babbling, wherein I continue to talk about the booths I want to see.


Eagle & Gryphon Games
:
 Booth: 1603

Pirate Dice: Here we go again, folks. Pirates. Ships. Dice. But, this looks good, I love dice and I helped this one via Kickstarter as well. Verdict: Want to Demo/Kickstarter. Conclusion: I did not get to see the game, I heard that people did, I just happened to not. Still a backer and still looking forward to getting the game.

Exile Game Studio: Booth: 419

Hollow Earth Expedition: Love these guys. It’s a tradition each year to make sure this is one of the first booths I visit. The first year Exile was at GenCon, I met Jeff Combos and Sechin Tower and fell in love with HEX. It’s a great game, I urge you to check it out. I just read they are working on a Kickstarter soon, I’m sure I will be following that one. Hopefully I’ll see some more of the Mars stuff they have been working on. Verdict: Have to See. Conclusion: Always good to see Jeff and Sechin. I got in early to the Dealer’s Hall on Thursday because of my Trade Day Badge. It was nice to avoid the crowds and just say hi. I picked up Deadfellas and got in their Kickstarter for Perils of the Surface World.

 

Mad Science Institute with author Sechin TowerMr. Tower wrote this nifty little novel Mad Science Institute. Check it out. You can get a Kindle version right now for 99 cents on Amazon. Anyway, I’m playing in a Hollow Earth Expedition game based on Mad Science Institute run by Sechin Tower. How cool is that? Verdict: Can’t Wait! Conclusion: Excellent game! Run by Sechin, it was my first RPG played at GenCon this year and was a great way to kick off my gaming for the weekend. I picked up a hard copy of his novel, Kindles are cool and all, but I love to read BOOKS.

  

Fantasy Flight Games: Booth: 813, 819, 911, 919, 1107, 1113, 1119

Android: Netrunner: I think this is going to be one of the shows sell-outs. I was thinking about running and getting it when the Hall Doors open, but my Con brain is telling me not to rush. I remember the original version fondly, but I’m not sure about this one. Verdict: Want to Demo. Conclusion: Sold out in ten minutes from what I heard. My FLGS just got some copies, I may pick it up still. I’ve been waiting to hear anything about it, but no one I know has grabbed it up yet.

Sky Traders: I’d like to take a look at this one. looks interesting and it has…Airships! Verdict: Want to Demo. Conclusion: Avoided the cramped booth. Sometimes the Con-Corpses make it so I want to run out of the Dealer’s Hall screaming. Walk like you are going somewhere!

So Many Others: Mansions of Madness, Elder Sign and wayyyyy too many others. FFG has a ton of great games. I could spend a couple hours at their booth. Verdict: Want to See. Conclusion: The FFG Booth was a madhouse this year, as it is every year, but since Netrunner sold out early, I had less motivation to fight the crowd.

Flying Buffalo: Booth: 509

Tunnels and Trolls: I’ll have to stop by the booth and see if there is any news about the new edition, or maybe an Eagle Continent poster. I’m a member of Trollhalla, I go by the name Sharauk-Ru, if you happen to frequent the site. Verdict: Want to See. Conclusion: I said hi to the TrollGod and shook his hand. I was really making the rounds this year.

Gamescience / FRED Distribution: Booth: 1603

Blue Jasper: I have been bugging this company about this color dice since they were announced. I want them. Yes, Gamescience, I’m the pain in the butt who keeps asking about them, now Take My Money! Verdict: Must Buy. Conclusion: I got my Blue Jasper’s and nobody asked if I was the guy who was a pain in the butt. Score! Something I was wondering about this year…I thought Lou Zocchi had sold off Gamescience as he has not been at GenCon for the past couple of years. Now, this year, he and Gamescience EACH had a booth. Is there a story there I wonder? Gamescience Games vs. Gamescience? I’ll have to look it up.

 

 So, Mr. Zocchi has a Booth… …As does Gamescience? I’m confused.

 Beware the D-Total!

d30: Gotta grab a few for the gaming group, plus, the only one I have is one I bought when I was about 26 years younger than I am now. Time for a new one, especially since I like DCC RPG so much. Verdict: Must Buy. Conclusion: Snagged.

Geek & Sundry: Booth: 633

I gotta say, I missed the boat on this one. There has been a flood of new gaming things happening in the world. This is one of them. Quality gaming entertainment. I never thought I would see the day. This is a corner of the gaming world I haven’t poked around in much (much like my recent foray into Google+). I also just starting watching The Nerdist. I’m a little behind the times. But, I’m happy to see there is a whole aspect of gaming that is new to me. This is the new Golden Age of Gaming. I think I’ll be taking some time to learn and watch, more. Verdict: Want to See. Conclusion: I’m now watching, and enjoying.

Goodman Games: Booth: No Booth

DCC RPG: There may be no booth, but I’m playing in a couple of games of this GM’d by Harley Stroh. I really like the game, looking forward to this. It’s also one of the games I run, so it’ll be nice to learn from one of the creators. Verdict: Can’t Wait! Conclusion: Seeing Doug Kovacs’ new DCC cover in the flesh and playing in two of Harley Stroh’s games were some more highlights of this year’s GenCon. I’m gonna head out to GaryCon just so I can play with him again, a damn good GM. The two groups I played with were spectacular as well. Three Thumbs Represent! R.I.P. and Long Live Nicos Knicknevin. BTW, Harley flipped me off for saving my character, the mark of a true OSR GM.

 

Kenzer & Co: Booth: 519

HackMaster: I love HackMaster. I do, I do. It’s one of my favorite games to run, and it holds a special place in my heart. The new Player’s Handbook should be there, buy it, it’s a glorious book. I already have my copy. Verdict: Have to See. Conclusion: The Booth looked busy and it was nice to say hi to Jolly Blackburn. 

-Loughmiller’s Pub Saturday 7 p.m.: Looks like there will be a meetup for KenzerCo and HackMaster fans, I’ll probably stop by. I’m HMGMA #300 by the way. Verdict: Maybe. I didn’t go.

 

 

Koplow Games Inc: Booth: 1219

d24, d30: Need to get some for the gaming group for our DCC RPG game. It’s funny, when I owned my game-store, Haunted Chapel Comics and Games, I sold Chessex and Crystal Caste dice. I find I prefer Koplow or Gamescience for my own needs. I just think the pips and numbers look better on Koplow dice, so I buy them. Verdict: Must Buy. Conclusion: I got a handful of D30’s and D24’s for the Home Group.

Looney Labs: Booth: No Booth

Cthulhu Fluxx: No booth. It’s really bummed me out that Looney Labs no longer goes to GenCon. I’m an Icehouse/Treehouse fanatic, but no-one will play with me. I’ll bring a copy of Ice Dice for pick-up games. The first games I played with my (at the time) soon-to-be wife, were all Looney Labs games. I used to run demos as well. I’m sure I’ll find a copy somewhere. Verdict: Must Buy. Conclusion: I bought a copy of Cthulhu Fluxx at the Steve Jackson Booth along with another game called Cthulhu 5000. 

I’ll be back with more!

Next: Volume C.

Leave a Reply

