Tomorrow: DCC RPG

Tomorrow nights game is DCC RPG, a game of which I have become increasingly fond of. After playing the game with Harley Stroh at GenCon, I’ve gotten a better feel for running the game for sure. The game flows nicely and has a wonderful Old-School feel. What are they calling this? OSR? Old-School Renaissance? (Ah, Revival, had to look it up) (Update: Nope. Renaissance according to the DCC book) Whatever it is, it just reminds me of playing the game in years long gone by. I started playing in the late seventies and have never forgotten the Basic Rulebook (2nd print). I had been introduced to D and D by then, but this was the first set I bought with my own money (earned selling knives at an early Pennsic War) and it holds a special place in my heart. DCC has this feel, this air about it that lends itself to my style of play more than some others. In any case, we should finish up Doom of the Savage Kings and then be ready for either The People of the Pit, or The Emerald Enchanter. Depends if I level them at the end of Savage Kings or not.

By the way, if you are enjoying Goodman-Games‘ DCC RPG, then you should also check out Crawl! I won a set of the first three issues at GenCon and got a subscription as soon as I got home. I just have to figure out how to order more of the reference sheet pack I also won, I don’t see it on the Crawl! website (Just saw a comment that said they were a GenCon only thing, at least I got one!). But give it a shot, subscribe for under $25, you’ve probably spent that much getting BBQ sauce on Kickstarter that you haven’t even tasted yet.

GaryCon is in my sights…I wanna go just to play with Harley again, we’ll see!

Update: I just booked my room!

Leave a Reply

