Kickstarters.

Thinking about Kickstarters at the moment. The most obvious one to any of you fine folks that have found your way here to the Toxic Swamp is Deadlands Noir. This is one of the first Kickstarters I backed and it’s given me the most return so far. I played in the game at GenCon, I got my dice and badge. I’ve sent out info for my NPC and I’ve met the players behind the scenes. It’s been a glorious experience.

But what other Kickstarters are on my radar?

I backed The Duke from Catalyst Game Labs. At GenCon I was able to see a prototype and they also had Print and Play versions they were handing out. So, I’ve at least seen/held in my hands, parts of the actual game.

 

Modest Magic. First thing that made me spend money on a Kickstarter. Looking at this fine product, I was sold. You are going to love this stuff. Modular terrain. Quite brilliant. I’m proud to have backed this one and I’m pretty bummed I didn’t locate Nicholas Whitney at GenCon and get to shake his hand and see the Castle he brought with him. He did mention a video though, you should check it out if you want to feast your eyes on some good terrain.

Relic Knights. This one is still going on and I got to see some models and even bought one. (On a side note: I played Super Dungeon Explore at GenCon and loved it. I don’t own the game yet but I picked up Caverns of Roxor to keep me sated.) Not much to say here, it’s still live for Pete’s sake, but I own a model. That’s something.

 

 

Cerebus: High Society Digital. I love Cerebus. Cerebus means a lot to me, an old, dear friend. This Kickstarter has had more updates than any other I’m in. Each one informative and uplifting. This is one awesome project. I’m seeing things get packed into boxes, Dave Sim has been working his butt off and work has progressed. Today, there was some bad news. I’m sorry to say that the project has suffered a setback, Sandeep, who has been doing all the scanning of original negatives, suffered a devastating fire and lost all of his possessions, including the new scanners and original negatives. Not only is this a horrible thing to have to happen to anyone, and I pray and wish him well and hope a way to help him surfaces, (HELP SANDEEP BY CLICKING HERE) I am sad for a great loss for the comics community as well. A big chunk of history has been lost. Whatever you do to give someone in distress comfort, please try to do it for Sandeep.

Here is the original post that was sent to backers of the project.

Dave Sim, here:  Just thought everyone should know:  Fisher came over today and asked if I had heard from Sandeep.  No, I hadn’t.  Hands me today’s RECORD.  Front page: Sandeep’s place — and the buildings on either side of him — were gutted by fire yesterday afternoon. He got out in one piece but with nothing but the clothes on his back and his wallet (he had been in the shower and a cop showed up at the door:  “You have the leave. NOW”) The whole place went up in about five minutes.
 All of the negatives for HIGH SOCIETY were destroyed as well as the 11×17 scanner and the new negative scanner.  No insurance.  So, I thought I’d better let everyone know that we’re definitely not on track for the September 12 launch at this point.
I don’t expect that I’ll hear from Sandeep for at least a few days — he’s staying with friends and obviously has a lot more important things to think about than HIGH SOCIETY DIGITAL.  
Okay — gotta run to make my 3:00 prayer.  Please feel free to relay this to anyone you think should know.  Particularly people who are waiting on HIGH SOCIETY DIGITAL.  

Here is a petition I have signed. I have nothing to say, other than I stand by it.

Leave a Reply

