So, where am I gonna go? Part One.

It’s the Monday before GenCon and I thought I would mention the various Booths I’m looking at visiting, demoing at or purchasing from. Mainly this is my list of what to do at the Con.

Alea Tools: Booth: 608

New Version: A few GenCons ago, my wife bought me these excellent markers for miniatures, magnetic, they attach to the bottom of your figs to denote status or whatever you can imagine. The older version starts to repel each other when a bunch of them are in close proximity, I’ve read that is no longer the case, so I’d like to check out the newer model. Plus, they have a special going on…Verdict: Want to See.

-Spend $50 get a free 1” Marker Rack

Ares Games: Booth: 134

Sails of Glory: As a gamer who has been around for a while, there are games that I’ve never played but have always wanted to. This game falls into the genre of games I’ve always wanted to play: Ship Battles. I’ve always wanted a copy of Gygax’s Don’t Give Up the Ship! so I keep an eye out for sea battle games. This one got on my radar due to this fine list over at Board Game Geek. Verdict: Want to Demo.

Brooklyn Indie Games: Booth: 1033 with Game Salute

Ghost Pirates Board Game: Again, another ship game that incorporates another favorite, Pirates! Also discovered on Board Game Geek. Verdict: Want to Demo.

Catalyst Game Labs: Booth: 1703, 1711

Leviathans: Demo Leviathans and get a mini…OK! I’ve been watching this one for a while now, might satisfy that ship craving I have. But, looks cool, comes partially painted and the fluff has a Polish inventor creating the Airships. Sounds good to me. Verdict: Want to Demo.

The Duke: I got involved with the Kickstarter for this one, looking forward to playing it. There will also be a photo-op for the backers of this project at the Catalyst booth on Saturday from 5:30 to 5:45 p.m. I’ll be there. Verdict: Want to Demo/Kickstarter.

Shadowrun: 2050: I just want to hold this in my hands and stare at the cover for a while. Verdict: Want it/Gotta Have it.

Shadowrun: The Clutch of Dragons: Oh my. This looks…fantastic. Verdict: Want it/Gotta Have it.

Shadowrun: Elven Blood Limited Edition: Convention Exclusive. I could always use more Shadowrun Missions. Verdict: Must Buy.

Shadowrun: Weapon Cards (Guns.V1): Another convention item. Since Shadowrun is one of the games I’m currently running, this and the next one are Verdict: Must Buy.

Shadowrun: Gear Cards (Drones & Vehicles.V1): See above. Verdict: Must Buy.

Mechwarrior Tactics Online Beta Key Poster: I seem to get into a lot of Beta’s. This one I want to be in. I’ve loved Battletech and Mechwarrior for many years. When I used to live in Florida, it was Battletech almost every night. Verdict: Snag One If You Can.

Shadowrun Fan Meet and Greet: Wednesday 7-9 p.m. Union Station: I’ll try to make it, I want to make it, but I’m doing Trade Day this year for the first time, and this falls during the same time as my demo time with Trade Day. Verdict: Maybe.

Crash Games: Booth: No Booth

The Lost Dutchman: These guys have no booth this year, but I’m gonna follow them on Twitter and see if I can rustle up a Demo of The Lost Dutchman. I backed this one on Kickstarter and I’d like to get a taste of the gameplay. Verdict: Want to Demo/Kickstarter.

Cubicle 7 Entertainment: Booth: 125

The Doctor Who Card Game: I am a Whovian for sure. I have my Sonic Screwdriver packed in my bag. Verdict: Want to Demo/Want it/Gotta Have it.

The Doctor Who RPG 11th Doctor Edition: I have the David Tennant cover, I wanted a Matt Smith cover. Perhaps this year? Verdict: Want to See.

I’ll be back in a little bit with more!

Leave a Reply

